COLLABORATING IN GOOGLE DOCS
View and Edit Together
If you and another collaborator are editing the same document at the same time, a thumbnail of the collaborators appears at the top of the screen. If you hover your cursor over one of the boxes, the name of the collaborator will be displayed. Clicking on their thumbnail will take you to where they are within the document.
If other people are editing a document simultaneously with you, you will see their edits in real time. You can also see the text that other editors are highlighting as they select it. If someone is about to delete something on your screen or drag text somewhere else, you’ll see them highlight that text before anything changes.
Click the speech bubble to the right of the thumbnails to open a small window at the bottom right where you can chat with other editors within the document.
Note: Up to 50 people can edit a document at the same time. You can share a document with up to 200 people.
View and Revert to Previous Version
Working in groups makes the autosave and revision history feature especially helpful. Since copies of your document are saved anytime a collaborator makes edits, it’s easy to check and see who made what edits and when.
To browse previous versions of a shared document, follow these steps:
If you change your mind about the most recent edits you or your collaborators made to the document, simply revert to an older version by following these steps: